Jurisdictional Blood Committee (JBC)

The Jurisdictional Blood Committee (JBC) is a committee of senior government officials with member representation from the Australian Government, the six State Governments and two Territory Governments.

JBC is responsible for all jurisdictional issues relating to the national blood supply, including planning, production, supply and budgeting. It provides national policy leadership on these matters, advising Health Ministers through the  Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Health Council and settling less significant issues as authorised by the Council.  Advice and support to COAG Health Council is provided through the Hospitals Principal Committee and Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council.

The JBC is also responsible for considering advice from, and providing advice to, the NBA on matters related to the national blood supply, overseeing the NBA’s role in relation to contracts, and referring proposed changes to the national blood supply for evidence-based evaluation.

TABLE: JBC Membership



Position and Jurisdiction

Mr Mark Cormack


Deputy Secretary - Department of Health

Ms Penny Shakespeare

Member First Assistant Secretary, Technology, Assessment & Access Division - Department of Health

Dr Kerry Chant


Chief Health Officer and Deputy Director General, Population & Public Health - NSW Ministry of Health

Mr Michael Furey


Manager, Blood, Pharmaceutical, Organ & Tissue Donation - Department of Health, Victoria

Dr Jeannette Young


Chief Health Officer - Queensland Health

Prof. David Forbes


A/g Chief Medical Officer - Department of Health, WA

Ms Susan Ireland


Ass. Director, Quality Systems, Information and Performance - SA Health

Dr Joy Mendel


Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania

Dr Hugh Heggie


A/g Chief Health Officer - Department of Health, NT

Dr Jeffery Fletcher


A/g Chief Medical Officer - ACT Health

Further information is available from the JBC Secretariat by email jbc@blood.gov.au or by telephone 02 6151 5066.